Tags

, , , , , , ,

304027

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood #5) by J.R. Ward
502 pages
Published September 25th 2007
Buy at Amazon


PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS SERIES:
Dark Lover
Lover Eternal
Lover Awakened
Lover Revealed

In Caldwell, New York, war rages between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Now the cold heart of a cunning predator will be warmed against its will…

Ruthless and brilliant, Vishous, son of the Bloodletter, possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a pretrans growing up in his father’s war camp he was tormented and abused. As a member of the Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste true pleasure for the first time-until a destiny he didn’t choose takes him into a future that cannot include her…

Review:

Hallejuh! A heroine that is more than just a cardboard cut out! We finally get it. Not only that, but we get a mostly conflict free relationship. Oh how good it feels to finally read about someone NOT assuming in a relationship.
Jane is amazing. A-MA-ZING. She is exactly my kind of strong character. She doesn’t put up with any bull while at the same time making sure her feelings are known. It has been a sort of trend with this series, with the heroines not being able to fully express their feelings or because they held them in something else was assumed. So, to me, Jane is an absolute breath of fresh air.

Vishous, I should say that his story includes some pretty awful abuse and I could almost say trigger warning for certain parts. I do love the fact that he’s into BDSM, not just for the awesome sex scenes (which, btw, were not shown fully when he was in ‘Dom’ mode), but because during a certain part it shows us more of his character. Wish I could elaborate, it’s one of those things that would spoil you. Anywho, his past is full of pain, and so is his present, so it makes a very compelling story. I know I was kept on my toes.
I’m not sure whose past is worst in the Brotherhood. What it really boils down to is everyone’s past has sucked so far and I don’t really think it would be fair of me to compare them. What they all really need is a group hug and group therapy.

We get a lot of Phury in Lover Unbound. Phury and his destructive nature. His very, very, destructive nature. I love his character so much that reading about all he was doing really made me uncomfortable. Let us hope that his book makes him better, otherwise he needs help…badly.

Even better is that this book features no Lesser POV. Yes! Yes! I hate reading about the Lessers in their POV so I was extremely happy. But, because of this we really don’t get any serious fighting except for a few times.

As for the Chosen, I have to say that that whole thing was RIDICULOUS. Not just because a primale gets to ‘mate’ with ALL of the chosen (like 40 females) and he gets a ‘main’ female, but because if a Chosen doesn’t want to give her body to him she’s bound and gagged- FORCED to go through the ritual. Sounds like rape to me and this has been going on for forever! I was totally creeped out and astounded that the Scribe Virgin would let that happen. Especially considering HER own past.

Tons of major plot moments though, mostly centering around Jane and V, but a few elsewhere. Lover Unbound moves at a nice pace and didn’t drag, it did the opposite in fact. It threw me onto a carnival ride that jumbled my insides and made me cry buckets of massive tears. I have heartburn from the tears. If you cried during the others, you will definitely cry with Lover Unbound because the unexpected happens. I literally cried through the last few chapters.
That ending though. I’m gonna have to say it was a cop-out. While I want the very best to always happen, in this case I don’t think it should have. Mean of me, awful of me, but I honestly think it should have been left right where it was.

Overall, I still think the series gets better and better with each passing book. Loved Lover Unbound, and it’s definitely competing with Lover Awakened for the top spot.

SPOILER:
Have you guys noticed that every female so far has become immortal in some way or fashion? Call me crazy, but I’d like for a human to fall in love with a vampire without all the frills and immortality.

