Tags

, , , , , , ,

42898
Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood #4) by J.R. Ward
455 pages
Published March 6th 2007
Buy at Amazon



PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS SERIES:
Dark Lover
Lover Eternal
Lover Awakened

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly war raging between vampires and their slayers. And there exists a secret band of brothers like no other – six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Now, an ally of the Black Dagger Brotherhood will face the challenge of his life and the evil of the ages.

Butch O’Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard-living ex-homicide cop, he’s the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world-to engage in the turf war with the lessers. His heart belongs to a female vampire, Marissa, an aristocratic beauty who’s way out of his league. And if he can’t have her, then at least he can fight side by side with the Brothers.

But fate curses him with the very thing he wants. When Butch sacrifices himself to save a civilian vampire from the slayers, he falls prey to the darkest force in the war. Left for dead, he’s found by a miracle, and the Brotherhood calls on Marissa to bring him back, though even her love may not be enough to save him.

Review:

This is going to sound crazy, but Lover Revealed is probably my favourite and least favourite of the series so far. If it had just avoided all the romance and communication conflicts it would have been 5 stars easily. Sadly, it blundered through the romance to the point I just didn’t care about Marissa anymore or even their romantic storyline for that matter.

Lover Revealed does do something good: Butch. His storyline is literally going to blow you away when you read it. I always knew Butch was a good character, but this definitely sealed it. Not just that, but Butch becomes more than just the human sidekick. We see things happen to him that are mind numbing and then extraordinary to the point you’re own the edge of your seat wondering just what is going to happen next. Just how is it going to play out. He has one hell of a storyline and it is good. I wish I could share the nitty gritty details, but I would ruin it, sorry. I’m still literally blown away by how awesome reading about him way.

There also a little side…whatever you want to call…it between Butch and Vishous. Not quite romance, not quite brotherly love, but more…? It’s hard to explain, but it’s more than just affection (at least to me). It puts Vishous in a new light. The scenes between the two are wonderful, but it leaves me wondering just what is going on between the two. There is a huge massive spoiler that could solve it (located within Lover Revealed), but I just don’t know. Vishous’s story is next in line so maybe I’ll get it figured out then.

Now for Marissa and Butch. Holly hell at the major communication problems. It’s like having two cups and long darn string. You can’t hear one another even though your speaking. You thought Zsadist had problems…that was a cakewalk compared to this. Yes, the sex was good, but mostly it was angry sex or either sex that was stopped because they couldn’t tell each other what was wrong. “Oh he doesn’t like me.” “She’s yelling at me to leave, she doesn’t want me anymore.” I seriously do not care that Marissa is a whiny virgin because even after sex she is still that way (also my least favourite character now). I do not care that Butch has daddy/family issues. What I do care about is how stupid their relationship is. There. I said it. They have the stupidest relationship ever. They’re so worried about hurting one another that they do the worst thing and avoid asking and telling the number one things to each other that could have solved it all. I don’t know how many times they argued, assumed the worst, and left and fought all because of this. Why are they even in a relationship if they’re just going to assume everything? You cannot read his mind or vice versa, so why are you even assuming what each other feels? **And why is this such a big thing with these books? The assuming, the arguing. It’s OK in moderation, but when you can’t even have a conversation without assuming and then run off only in the end to miraculously overcome it all…WHY?** I’m almost to the point where I wish these books were less focused on romance with “the one” and just let them go off and have casual sex while taking down lessers and continuing the plot.
I’m done with their relationship and I don’t even want to think about it anymore.

We still get multiple POVs and I still do not like reading about the lessers. I do, however, love reading about John. Absolutely love him. He’s a great big shiny light amongst all this and I just feel for him so much! Definitely a great character that I can’t wait to see more from.

All in all, the awful romance really brings me down, because that all-over-the-place thing just doesn’t work for me. There’s a such thing as having to work for your love, but this is just conflict central. BUT, I think it’s a great read solely for Butch, Vishous, and John.

I do not recommend skipping Lover Revealed because you will be missing out a HUGE, massive, shock worthy plot line- and I vouch for its awesomeness.

Miss me, guys? I’ve been pretty sick these last few months and I’ve had a slew of testing done with no answers. My thyroid is very swollen and I have multiple lymph nodes in my neck and jaw area that are swollen, plus with all the fatigue and overall ‘what’s next?’ scenario has really dragged me down. I’m gonna go ahead and post the reviews for this series that I HAVE reviewed. I’m on book 7, but I have my doubts that I will finish it in the next few months.
I have been reading Real Murders by Charlaine Harris and I’ve actually got a few new books and some ARCs, but otherwise, I just haven’t been up for much reading. I even pre-ordered The Indigo Spell and haven’t read but 30 pages or so- I even got it signed! I was so excited for it, so you can see how I’ve been if I didn’t even want to read that. ):

