Tags

, , , , , , ,

7161496
Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood #6) by J.R. Ward
534 pages
Published June 3rd 2008
Buy at Amazon


PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS SERIES:
Dark Lover
Lover Eternal
Lover Awakened
Lover Revealed
Lover Unbound

In this “frighteningly addictive” paranormal romance saga there’s a war raging between vampires and their slayers. Here are the stories of a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. And now a dutiful twin must choose between two lives…

Fiercely loyal to the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of the race, becoming the male responsible for keeping the Brotherhood’s bloodlines alive. As Primale of the Chosen, he is obligated to father the sons and daughters who will ensure that the traditions of the race survive, and that there are warriors to fight those who want all vampires extinguished.

As his first mate, the Chosen Cormia wants to win not only his body, but his heart for herself. She is drawn to the noble responsibility behind the emotionally scarred male. But Phury has never allowed himself to know pleasure or joy. As the war with the Lessening Society grows grim, tragedy looms over the Brotherhood’s mansion, and Phury must decide between duty and love….

Review:

Well ladies and gentlemen, I knew it was too good to be true. The dreaded love with conflicts and “You’re too good for mes” has returned. Can’t say I’m happy to see it back, especially considering how awesome the Jane/V combo is. Maybe I hoped that we’d finally get another character like Jane. Who am I kidding, we all have read about Cormia before this, so we knew what she was like. Definitely not the worst character ever, but I can’t say I’d come to her rescue for any kind of reason either.

What gets me is that part of Lover Enshrined is very, very, very good. So good I was practically salivating. Everything to do with John is brilliant. I love it. Unless something changes in the future books, John is one of the main reasons I keep reading. Then, we have his friends Blay and Qhuinn. Talk about a shot between the eyes, I wasn’t expecting what happened between them- and hey, I freely admit I read the summary for Lover At Last after finishing Lover Enshrined, because I’m a glutton for punishment (and I secretly thought maybe I was going to end up with Qhuinn, hey, I’m a fangirl what do you expect?). Then we have that not so little thing with Lash which, again, shot between the eyes because I was so totally not expecting that.

Basically everything that about this book that doesn’t have to do with Cormia and Phury is A++. Which leaves me to say that most parts between the two were very, very, bad. At times I felt like I was reading a wall of text because Phury has so much going on. I mean, yeah, I definitely liked his character before, I wanted to know his story, and now the only thing I can really say is that it didn’t live up to what I was expecting. Maybe I just don’t find his reason for being an addict for two centuries reason enough. Sure, he had a lonely childhood and it sucks that his parents shut themselves down and were awful and it’s terrible about what happened to Z, but seriously? Phury has serious problems. Enough to warrant such an addiction? Meh. I especially hated to read about The Wizard, Phurys, basically, imaginary friend.
I do think Wrath and Z were way to hard on him. They could have put more time into rectifying the problem. They ignored and let it get out of hand. They didn’t help. You can’t just say, “Stop what you’re doing.” and then believe the persons answer- especially if their dependent on drugs. A little too much in my opinion.

Needless to say, I’m disappointed with Phurys side of the tale. Honestly, I was really expecting a novel full of Chosen sex. Honest. One massive orgy and it went unfulfilled.

There’s no skipping Lover Enshrined, however. There’s way too much stuff that’s overly important. If you can get through the wall of text that is at times boring and sleep inducing, you’ll be just fine because what awaits you afterwards is a party of awesome.

