Tags

, , , , , , ,

35729
Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood #2) by J.R. Ward
441 pages
Published March 7th 2006
Buy at Amazon



PREVIOUS REVIEWS ON THIS SERIES:
Dark Lover

In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war raging between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret bound of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Possessed by a deadly beast Rhage is the most dangerous of the Black Dagger Brotherhood.

Within the brotherhood, Rhage is the vampire with the strongest appetites. He’s the best fighter, the quickest to act on his impulses, and the most voracious lover-for inside him burns ferocious curse cast by the Scribe Virgin. Owned by this dark side, Rhage fears the time when his inner dragon is unleashed, making him a danger to everyone around him.

Mary Luce, a survivor of many hardships is unwittingly thrown into the vampire world and reliant to Rhage’s protection. With a life-threatening curse of her own, Mary is not looking for love. She lost her faith in miracles years ago. But when Rhage’s intense animal attraction turns into something more emotional, he knows that he must make Mary his alone. And while their enemies close in, Mary fights desperately to gain life eternal with the one she loves…

Review:

So, I now see why people love these books. I’m sorry I didn’t see the light sooner! Forgive me.

Lover Eternal is a heartbreaking, toe curling, Rhage loving happy meal. Seriously, if this was marketed in happy meals, I’d be the first in line.
Let me be honest and just prepare you for what’s to come: You WILL cry like a baby, or at least get choked up and overcome with emotion.

For some reason, I like the brothers names: Wrath, Rhage, Phury, Zsadist- they match the characters. Because in this case, Rhage is filled with Rage. Get it? They were silly at first, but reading it’s like how could these names not be awesome? We get our same slew of characters and then a few new ones plus some side stories- Bella: Mary’s next door neighbor who also starts the unraveling for the next book with Zsadist, John (!!!) a young mute guy who ties in the previous book and the next.

Speaking of Rhage, oh my dear, how I love you so much. I loved how not only did we get to know Rhage better, but the beast inside him as well. We’re shown that inside him is a beast, but until Lover Eternal, we didn’t get to see if there was actually anything to the beast. Let me just say that the reason he was cursed is so silly. Beyond silly. Why would you curse a person for what he did? Especially since the curse to him was a living hell. The Scribe Virgin is a royal bitch.

Mary, oh our sweet Mary. Her hardships hit close to home and I was rooting for her. She is a little dense in thinking that Rhage doesn’t like her, to the point I just wanted to shake her. What is it with characters that interpret actions as something else when it is obvious what was going on? The bitter exchange of words is strong because of her density. I do really like her character though, all things considered. What’s amazing is that they didn’t have sex when they first met! It took them awhile and I’m glad! I actually believed and liked their relationship more because of it.

There were pieces of conversation that made no sense to me. I know I read Lover Eternal wicked fast, but I’m sure it’s because the conversation actually didn’t make sense and not because of how I read. Thankfully, it only happened about twice. Once was with a conversation with V and Mary and the other I can’t quite remember.
POV switches were a bit easier this time. I still do not enjoy reading in the Lessers POV, for some reason it bores me to tears. I actually dread reading it and visibly sigh when I reach their POV.

Overall, I think I’m officially a convert.

