Tags

, , , , , , ,

42899
Dark Lover (The Black Dagger Brothhood #1) by J. R. Ward
393 pages
Published September 6th 2005
Buy at Amazon


 
In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

Review:

I wanted to love the crap out of this book. I’ve heard so many bloggers raving about it that I finally gave into temptation. And honestly, I’m still not 100% sure of my feelings for it.

What really threw me off was the point of view (POV) changes. We switch from Beth, to Wrath, Darius, Mr. X, Butch, and so on. I have a really hard time adjusting when reading in multiple characters POV. Yes, the POV changes gives us in depth knowledge so we can better understand the others. I realize that and accept it, but that doesn’t mean I’ve got to like it. I’ll admit, I speed read some POVs, because I just wasn’t interested. Beth I liked, Wrath I liked (can I hug you, please?), but I could leave all the rest behind in a cloud of dust.

I wish I could say that I’m head over heels with Beth (our half-breed) and Wrath’s relationship, but I’m not. It started off really nice and scorching. When I say scorching, I mean burning hot, so hot not even a air-conditioned room would cool you. Half way through everything started to feel too simple. She was in love with him and him with her and they would do anything for each other. You’ve known each other for what…days? It was frustrating to say the least.
I would have loved to see a steady build up of love in the span of two books, I think that’s what it needed, because I just can’t believe everything that happened in such a short amount of time. Don’t get me wrong, I like the couple, I think they’re jazzy, but I just have a hard time believing in them. It was serious case of instant love and having sex within the first 5 minutes of meeting.

Can I just say how crazy that is? You meet and then you’re like, “Oh baby, I’ve never felt this way before. No ones ever made me feel this way.” And I’m all like, “O RLY? Tell me more.” Why are you acting like you’ve just went into heat? If you’ve ever seen a cat go into heat, you’ll know Beth is the prime human…vampire hybrid example. Not that I’m complaining about the sex, but I’m just amazed at how quick it happened.

Not only that, but our friendly neighborhood cop Butch is also attracted to Beth and then he meets someone else and it’s insta-love all over again. I do like Butch though, I like his interactions with the Brotherhood and I think they’re exactly what he needed.

Story wise, it’s intriguing, if you don’t count the obligatory damsel in distress and wounded warrior scenario. The Brotherhood is actually an interesting mix of characters and they’re really what made me push on. (Leather, big, big men, muscles, personalities that you can’t resist. Can I sign up for one?) I had moments where I felt like I was reading for nothing. I’d ask myself, “Why am I still reading this?” I couldn’t (and still can’t) figure out why I did keep pushing on.

Did I enjoy Dark Lover? Sort of. There are highlight moments that really shine, but really it was just sort of ‘meh’ for me. Will I read the next book? Yes, I’m going to go ahead and see if I can’t finish the series or at least read the stories of the brotherhood I really like (Zadist!!).

