Tags

, , , , , ,

12033455

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
433 pages
Published October 31st 2011
Buy at Amazon

I’ve lost it. :( The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’s family for three generations. And now the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day! Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive :) !!

Poppy Wyatt has never felt luckier. She is about to marry her ideal man, Magnus Tavish, but in one afternoon her “happily ever after” begins to fall apart. Not only has she lost her engagement ring in a hotel fire drill but in the panic that follows, her phone is stolen. As she paces shakily around the lobby, she spots an abandoned phone in a trash can. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number for the hotel to contact her when they find her ring. Perfect!

Well, perfect except that the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading his messages and wading into his personal life.

What ensues is a hilarious and unpredictable turn of events as Poppy and Sam increasingly upend each other’s lives through emails and text messages. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, mysterious phone calls, and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents . . . she soon realizes that she is in for the biggest surprise of her life.

Review:

I really, really enjoyed this book. Beyond enjoyed it, actually, but I didn’t love it. Blame it on Poppy, because really it was her fault.

The best part is the texting. Absolutely the best.
Just stopped by to collect your goody bag for you. All apart of the service. No need to thank me.
And my cocktails, I see.

That’s just a smidgen of it. If there was one book that could be completely devoted to texts from a person you hardly know, all the while completely having a blast and never wanting it to end- then this is it. I can’t get over how much I loved the texts. Usually it’s awful to read them, they seem out of place, or they look as if they were just thrown in for the extra word count. You won’t find that here.

My main problem with Poppy is the way she acts. She takes it upon herself to email those who have emailed Sam, when she’s not supposed to. Completely masquerading as him. Other main female characters in previous Sophie Kinsella books make me feel this way as well- completely annoyed, frustrated, like I’m going to pull out my hair and scream. I cannot get over her brainless and impulsiveness. She’s also a people pleaser and while this is not bad (hey, I do this as well!) but she does it to the extreme. Her picking the phone out the trash and refusing to give it back, her letting Magnus’s family walk all over her…
I do like Poppy, don’t get me wrong, especially toward the end when she grows a backbone. I’d name the things I like about her, but all the bad things keep jumping to mind. (And obviously, I MUST have liked her since I gave it 4 stars and managed to finish it.)

Our Sam is brilliant and honestly the star of the book for me (oh, wait, maybe it’s the cell phone with all those amazing texts? I can’t choose.). He seems almost perfect, a little too curt, a little too serious, but over all a real package. When his feeling toward Poppy start to shine through in his texts that when I lost it in silly grins and Nook hugging. His only fatal flaw for me was when he’d get angry, but even that didn’t last long. (Yeah, I’m looking at you mister angry eyes.)

This is just the perfect escape read. I think it probably is the most entertaining of the Sophie Kinsella books I’ve read so far. Definite must read.

