Tags

, , , , , ,

13599639

Dark Swan series (Storm Born, Thorn Queen, Iron Crowned, Shadow Heir) by Richelle Mead

Buy at Amazon
Series rating:

Future of a Dark Swan #5? Unclear. Read here at the bottom of the page- leads to Richelle’s site.

 
Just typical. No love life to speak of for months, then all at once, every horny creature in the Otherworld wants to get in your pants. . .

Eugenie Markham is a powerful shaman who does a brisk trade banishing spirits and fey who cross into the mortal world. Mercenary, yes, but a girl’s got to eat. Her most recent case, however, is enough to ruin her appetite. Hired to find a teenager who has been taken to the Otherworld, Eugenie comes face to face with a startling prophecy—one that uncovers dark secrets about her past and claims that Eugenie’s first-born will threaten the future of the world as she knows it.

Now Eugenie is a hot target for every ambitious demon and Otherworldy ne’er-do-well, and the ones who don’t want to knock her up want her dead. Eugenie handles a Glock as smoothly as she wields a wand, but she needs some formidable allies for a job like this. She finds them in Dorian, a seductive fairy king with a taste for bondage, and Kiyo, a gorgeous shape-shifter who redefines animal attraction. But with enemies growing bolder and time running out, Eugenie realizes that the greatest danger is yet to come, and it lies in the dark powers that are stirring to life within her…

Review:

Another squished series review! No spoilers until further down, I give a warning, don’t worry. :)

My love for Richelle knows no bounds. I read the entire 4 books series in less than 8 days. That’s how much I loved this series. I say that a lot. That I love a series, that I read it quick, but I can honestly say that the Storm Born series kept me on my toes without a dull moment.

You’ll notice I only gave the series 4 stars. It’s mostly because of the last book, Shadow Heir. I was disappointed by the ending and the actions of the main character Eugenie.

Pacing for each book is marvelous. There was always something happening, something that could always keep me reading (and crying!). I especially love the plot twists. Not only that, but it’s a series of wonderful characters that you grow to love (or hate). I personally love Eugenie. I think she’s got a lot on her plate and she doesn’t always have the best judgement, but I never tired of her. Sometimes in a series I get sick of the main character and I usually stop in the middle of it and say I’ll pick it up later. Storm Born doesn’t have this problem. Like I said, wonderful characters that can keep any Sulky Sam happy.

There’s a lot of back and forth between the 3 main characters. Eugenie, Kiyo, and Dorian. She can’t pick just one. It’s like watching a ping pong game. Back, forth, back, forth. I never felt mad or disgusted with her because of it. Things happened and changed, it felt real, not like it was just happening for her to hop into someone else’s bed. I did have one moment of aggravation in Iron Crowned with Kiyo, otherwise I found it perfectly acceptable to continue paddling. Well, that’s not exactly true because I had pretty much made up my mind that I loved Dorian by the second book.

Speaking of him….You will fall in love with Dorian. He is the shining example of a motivated, handsome, funny, loving, amazing, etc character. Sure, he has his faults. He does some stupid things and has his own agenda, but man. He throws the best lines.

“The Kitsune’s gone insane,” said Dorian with mock sadness. “I knew it would happen sooner or later.”
“You used your power to toss one rock at me?” he exclaimed, an almost comic note of incredulity in his voice.
“On the contrary,” I heard Dorian say pleasantly. “I didn’t use magic for that. I just threw it.”

How could you not love him? I’d read anything about him *hint hint nudge nudge* (Dorian spin-off, please!). He is such a great character!

Trigger warning for the Thorn Queen, book 2. You’re more than welcome to email me or comment about what to expect. Otherwise, I will not post what happens. Too massive of a spoiler.

There is an open ending in Shadow Heir, Richelle herself mentions that she wants to continue the series on her website. I sure hope it means more of Eugenie. So many lose ends were left, well, things that I considered lose ends that is.

Not sure if you want to read this series? I compare the Dark Swan world to that of Charlaine Harris, Patricia Briggs, and Kelley Armstrong. If you like anything from those authors, definitely pick up Storm Born.

Spoilers:

Everything after this is now Dark Swan Spoil land. Enter (read) at your own risk!

Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like Kiyo possibly WANTED Eugenie to think that they were his kids, like for some reason he WANTED them to be his. Otherwise, his actions to me make no sense. Yes, he gave the, “If Dorian knew they’d be harder to kill” speech, but it just struck me as weird.
Not only that, but him trying to kill Eugenie seemed out of character and then not at the same time. I think it’d be very, very hard to kill the woman you love for the sake of prophecy that could or could not come true. Not only that, but innocent children! I don’t see how you can automatically condemn a child of actions that hasn’t been committed and especially take it upon yourself to rectify it.
I kept waiting for Eugenie to ask him, “If it was Luisa, could you kill her?”
Don’t even get me started on Maiwenn. Bitch be crazy. You kill Pagiel and then think the prophecy could transfer to little Thundro!? How dare you!

Speaking of Pagiel, who saw that coming? I didn’t that’s for sure. It made for a tidy little bow, him being the first grandchild, still…

Onto her (Eugenie) children. She’s CRAZY for leaving her children in the hands of others. They might be shamans, but they’re still strangers. Didn’t Art & Abigail teach you anything? While I can see the benefit in keeping them hidden among humans, but what’s to stop Maiwenn from finding them when they’re older? They could accidently summon a storm or cause an earthquake and BAM, they’d be found in a hurry.
Not only that, but Dorian would move the earth (literally) to keep his children safe. The shamans are only HUMAN and Candance mostly banishes ghosts.
Seriously?
I personally would have brought them to the Otherworld instead of keeping it a huge freakin’ secret from Dorian, Slayer of Souls. The Dorian she promised to start trusting because as he keeps stating, “What wouldn’t I do for you?” Obviously she won’t do the same for him. That’s mostly my problem is that Eugenie doesn’t tell him. He wants children and she’s going to keep him and herself away until the kids are…teens. Way to miss out on everything. Dorian should kick her ass.

Kung-Pow!

