Tags

, , , , ,

8709527
Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1) by Richelle Mead
421 pages
Published August 23rd 2011
Buy at Amazon

 Blood doesn’t lie…

Sydney is an alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of human and vampires. They protect vampire secrets – and human lives. When Sydney is torn from her bed in the middle of the night, at first she thinks she’s still being punished for her complicated alliance with dhampir Rose Hathaway. But what unfolds is far worse. Jill Dragomir – the sister of Moroi Queen Lissa Dragomir – is in mortal danger, and the Moroi must send her into hiding. To avoid a civil war, Sydney is called upon to act as Jill’s guardian and protector, posing as her roommate in the last place anyone would think to look for vampire royalty – a human boarding school in Palm Springs, California. But instead of finding safety at Amberwood Prep, Sydney discovers the drama is only just beginning…

Review:

I’m going to entirely assume/guess that you’ve read all the Vampire Academy books, so be aware that there are spoilers from that series.

I’ll be honest and say I was completely on the fence with Sydney. Actually, I had already put one foot on the ground and it wasn’t in her favor…UNTIL I read Bloodlines. It completely changed the way I felt about her and alchemists. She was never my favourite character in the previous books, I enjoyed her comments from time to time, but she was no Rose. So, when I finished devouring Last Sacrifice and picked up Bloodlines I thought, “Why Sydney?” Sure, she had that weird debt to Abe and she was apart of the elusive alchemists, but I honestly thought there was NO WAY I’d EVER fall for her.

I was wrong. Oh so very wrong.
Like always.

Sydney is like a little puzzle that is so much fun to unravel. I can see now why she got her own spin-off. I loved reading about Rose, I loved all her quips and her never ending sarcasm, but Sydney is like a breath of fresh air. They’re alike in ways, both helping their friends, but Sydney’s a push-over, often wrangled into things she’d rather not do. It can a little frustrating to read with her not speaking her mind. Maybe I just like snarky Adrian so much?

Speaking of the handsome devil, I can’t get enough of him. Truly, Sydney and Adrian are an odd pair. It’s hard to imagine them being friends, especially considering the personality difference, but it works. Adrian IS still down in the dumps over Rose and can hardly breath Dimitris name without having an aneurysm. We all have our hang ups and apparently that’s his.
If you’re thinking you’re going to get a full-blown romance in Bloodlines, you’re quite wrong. There’s hints and subtly, but definitely no kissing or touchy feely-ness.

Bloodlines focuses on Sydney and her ability to protect those around her, what she can do to keep the Moroi safe and out of sight. Because of certain circumstances, that will blow your mind when finding out (trust me), Sydney has been entrusted with Jill, Adrian, and more or less Eddie. This makes for some fun times that eventually leads down a dark path to Strigoi. To me, the book is one giant mystery to solve, and I like that. I like that so many things are hidden and we have to play detective to figure out what’s going on.

Don’t even think about starting Bloodlines before finishing Vampire Academy. You’ll be spoiled and kind of confused since a lot of the things mentioned in previous books are only partially explained here.

Do I recommend reading Bloodlines? OF COURSE! Stop putting it off if you have and just give in to temptation. You’ll thank me later.

