, , , , , , ,

Darkest Powers Trilogy (The Summoning, The Awakening, The Reckoning) by Kelley Armstrong

Buy at Amazon
Series rating:

Check out the Darkest Powers Bonus packs:
Bonus Pack 1, Bonus Pack 2.

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.


Slight spoilers ahead, nothing earth shattering. I’ll mark spoilers like this: **SPOILER** & **END SPOILER** That way you can skip over that part.

Kelley Armstrong gives us three books that are utterly fantastic and terribly hard to put down. Why do I say this? Because these books (and this author) gave me a imaginary place to get lost in. Not just to get lost in, but a place that nothing could penetrate. Something I needed desperately. They offered friendship, budding romance, heartbreak, terror, and dialogue that made me laugh and crave for more.

I’ll admit, I thought these books were ‘mainly’ about werewolves, silly me didn’t read the blurb. I can say I was pleasantly surprised to start reading,  then being hit in the face with a ghost seeing teenage girl named Chloe. (I thought she was werewolf Chloe, but hey, I read Kelley Armstrong’s Bitten before reading this trilogy.)

There’s a whole slew of characters. From demons, witches, and werewolves, to people so evil and twisted you have to wonder how they justify themselves. As always, I have my favourite character and it’s Derek. I’m a sucker for anyone described as tall, dark, and protective.

I do have some gripes:
• I wish the characters were a bit older. I get that **SPOILER** the characters are coming into their powers at this age **END SPOILER** but I can’t exactly request wild make out scenes between my favourite character because it’s just…wrong. Maybe I’m being a bit silly about the whole thing, but I wish they were at least 2 years older.
• Cliff hangers at every book ending! They stopped in awkward places and picked right back up at the start of a new book. It’s definitely nothing to cry or whine over and I can see the appeal of picking up in the place you left off, but it felt like one big book. Not three books with each doing a different thing, but 3 books that continued on from the first. Again, a silly nitpick thing.

I do love that the author is not afraid to kill characters off. Even if they may be characters I like. Maybe it’s just me, but to know that a character is not safe, read as the author cuts the string and you just think, “OMG. What if she does this to so-and-so?” Because right then, it’s just been proven that that author is not afraid to take a risk. Infuriating? Yes. Entertaining? To the max.

In the end, I highly recommend this series. You won’t be able to put them down, but when you do I recommend checking out the Otherworld Series and the Darkness Rising series by the same author. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.