Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Awake at Dawn (Shadow Falls #2) by C.C. Hunter
383 pages
Published October 11th 2011
Buy at Amazon

Previous books:
Born at Midnight || Review || Amazon

From the moment Kylie Galen arrived at Shadow Falls Camp, she’s had one burning question: What am I? Surrounded by vampires, werewolves, shape-shifters, fairies and witches, Kylie longs to figure out her own supernatural identity…and what her burgeoning powers mean. And now she’ll need them more than ever, because she’s being haunted by a new spirit who insists that someone Kylie knows—and loves—will die before the end of the summer. If only she only knew who she was supposed to save. And how…

But giving Kylie the most trouble is her aching heart. Gorgeous werewolf Lucas left camp with another girl, but he’s still visiting Kylie in her dreams. And Derek, a sexy half Fae who’s always been there for her when she needed him, is pushing to get more serious—and growing impatient, especially when Lucas returns. Kylie knows she needs to decide between the boys, and it’s tearing her up inside.

Yet romance will have to wait, because something from the dark side of the supernatural world is hiding in Shadow Falls. It’s about to threaten everything she holds dear…and bring her closer to her destiny.

Review:

Wow. Just wow. Can you believe it took me less than 24 hours to read Awake at Dawn? No? I can’t either. I’m hooked on this series!

I take back what I said about Kylie being in the too special heroine category. Once you read AaD, you’ll see what I’m talking about. I’m not a fan of characters that are overly special. It can drive me nuts. I was hoping Kylie wouldn’t turn out like that and she didn’t. Sure, she’s got a little more than the average supe, but I like that she grows (literally) into her own powers. Her powers are steady and I appreciate the thought the author gave it, so it’s not overwhelming and it doesn’t seem cliche. And at the same time, I was able to feel for her, connect to her, instead of losing that connection -what makes her relatable- as she turned more supe than human.

Can we talk about that love triangle? I’m definitely a Lucas fan, but Derek stole the show this time around. His sweet nature, the glances, the hot body- how could Kylie resist?! Right now, I feel as though Lucas and Derek are evenly matched. With what happens toward the end of the book, I’m not sure what the future holds for one of the contenders though. Which is a shame, honestly. Anywho, I definitely love how this is playing out. The characters are just perfect for the reader to fall in love with right along with Kylie. She’s a lucky girl, that’s for sure.

Don’t even get me started on her best friends and all the supporting characters in general. How can you not love the bickering vampire and witch that is Della and Miranda? My pet peeve is when best friends are shoved to the side to make room for other things, this doesn’t happen in Awake at Dawn. I love those girls, they make me laugh so hard and they balance out the seriousness in the story. I also really love Burnett. I didn’t think I would, but I do. He’s becoming one of those characters that if he ever gets killed off (knock on wood- how could I even think such a thing) I will bawl my eyes out. Even Perry is growing on me and can I just say him and Miranda need to get together already! Really, the Shadow Falls series has such great characters that you’re bound to fall for one of them (or all of them).

The story-line this time around is a bit darker and it has a sightly more mature feeling compared to the previous book. Since our dear Kylie has ghosts to follow her around, you can guess that, yep, she had another ghost she had to put up with. I like how we get to see more of how we think ghosts are- (besides the coldness) breaking things, random things turning on, etc. I’m becoming pretty into the paranormal genre, so it hits the spot just right.
There’s a lot of self-exploration, ass-kicking (badassery really), hysterical, and down right sad moments in this book.

I’m already pouncing on book 3.

