Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Born at Midnight (Shadow Falls #1) by C.C. Hunter
398 pages
Published March 29th 2011
Buy at Amazon

One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart.

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs…

Review:

I’ve finally met another book I didn’t want to put down. I honestly kept dreading the moment I would finish it, I didn’t want the story to end! It’s a good thing there are more books in the Shadow Falls series, I absolutely adore it!

Born at Midnight has so many good things going for it. A story line that isn’t too fast-paced, but at the same time doesn’t drag around. A cast of characters that you can’t help but love. A setting that’s beautiful, mysterious, and a little scary. It mixes just the right amount of teen drama in with supernatural beings and a dollop of romance. Well, there’s more than a dollop, a whole, whole lot more than a dollop.

I’ll start with our main love interests. Lucas or Derek? Werewolf or fae? I know who I’m rooting for! There’s just something about Lucas (might be the smokin’ hot part) that I really, really like. Don’t get me wrong. I think Derek is great, but I have to figure out if what Kylie suspects is true or not. It’s weird because when she’s with Derek it’s like she’s seeing the world crisper, clearer, it’s more beautiful than before and that kinda freaks me out. Derek is definitely one of the good guys, but I’m curious to see how his character will play out in the future books. Same goes with Lucas, he’s the bad boy type, the type you want swoon over, and trust me, I did my fair share of swooning.

Our dear Kylie is actually a pretty good heroine. She does put important things on hold and I admit, she makes me want to strangle her, but she’s in my top ten list of female characters that do not annoy the hell out of me. She’s got so much going on, her parents are getting divorced, she’s seeing things, her mother thinks she’s a troubled teen, the list goes on. Kylie made me cry with her problems and the things she experiences in Born at Midnight.
For right now, she does get thrown into the too special heroine category- you know, those characters that just seem to be able to do so much more than the other characters? Yeah.

If I had a nickel for every time the word ‘breasts’ was said I’d be a millionaire by now- okay, so maybe five dollars richer. While not a total complaint, I did find it a bit odd that Kylie was talking about how her breasts did this or that, or how they pressed up against someone. I almost felt like I was being transported into a steamy romance novel at times (hey no complaining here!). I’m just kind of confused as to why her breasts became their own character. (No, please don’t answer that.)

Overall, I think Born at Midnight is one of my favourite reads that I’ve read in 2012. Such a great start and I’m already looking forward to burying my nose in book two!

