Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
464 pages
Expected publication: May 1st 2012
Buy at Amazon || The Book Depository
I won an ARC of Sweet Evil via First Reads @ Goodreads.

Here is info on a possible Sweet Evil sequel called “Sweet Hope” if interested.

What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.

Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?



Trailer thoughts: I kinda really like this trailer. I love how the girl stands alone and then together with Kai and that ‘pull’ where she’s tempted. BUT, the southern twang is just too much. Being a southerner myself (central Alabama in the boonies) you don’t typically hear the nasally sound of the accent unless a) you’re buttering up customers b) you’re trying to impress (or you’re greeting) someone (thicken the accent) or c) you’re just bitchy. ‘Round here it’s more cutting off words, skippin’ words entirely, and making up your own words (biscuits as a name for watches anyone?). So, Anna’s ‘accent’ just rubs me the wrong way and it makes the trailer kind of off-putting in a way unfortunately.

Review:

I’ll be upfront with you, Sweet Evil reminds me of Hush, Hush and The Mortal Instruments. Is that a bad thing? No. Did it feel as though I have already read it before? Definitely no. Sometimes books have a way of overlapping in my mind. I may be reading a werewolf book and then switch over to another series about werewolves- and guess what usually happens? I start thinking, “Well, where is so-and-so?” I’ll rake my brain and try to find him and then be like, “Oh. Duh. Wrong series.” With Sweet Evil, there is no chance you will get a series confused (I may just be in that category by myself). What I’m getting at, is that Sweet Evil has enough of its own special thing that there’s no way you would think you were reading Hush, Hush or any other. That is what I LOVE about this book.

There is so much to be discovered with Sweet Evil. From demons, angels, spirits, guardian angels, to extra sensitive senses and everything in-between. I really loved how the author explained things. The word for it would be… addicting. I was often disappointed because parts of the explainations were saved for later when I wanted them right now. That’s honestly a personal problem though and nothing to do with the book itself, just my impatience.

I was a little worried about Anna and the covenant- the way religion would be explained and come into play. I like my books to be pretty neutral on religion, again, that is a personal preference, but Sweet Evil did a pretty good job at keeping religion part of the storyline and nothing more. You really can’t avoid religion with a subject like angels anyhow. I did like that the author was constant with Anna praying and whatnot- it made me glad it wasn’t a fly by night idea where, “Hey, my character prayed once so now I don’t have to ever talk about it again” type thing.

Speaking of Anna, she’s a steadfast character. She continually struggles with the bad side of her nature. Not once does she flip the magical switch that suddenly makes her immune to dangerous impulses. That is what I love about Anna, she struggles, makes mistakes, wants to do better, and at times, fails. The only bad thing about Anna is her infatuation with Kai. It comes to the point where she’s just another girl wanting to stick her paws on him and inevitably falls into the, “I love him, but we can’t be together, he thinks he’s so bad for me. I’ll just take a Bella moment and cry for a few months, too bad I don’t have a best friend named Jacob” category. I do give her credit for trying to resist him and failing.

As for Kai, being the son of lust, you can just imagine the sexy times he gets into. Even though he was trying to act as though they were bad for each other and just saying the absolutely wrong things (I totally would have beat him to a pulp, just saying) he is probably my one of my favourite lead male characters. I like that Anna eventually strips him down of his bad boy exterior and we get to see the real Kai. As for our our minor characters, there is not one character I dislike. Well, I think that’s a lie, I have a few characters I don’t like for obvious reasons such as being the bad guy or what not.
I do have a grip about Anna’s father “Jonathan LaGray” and their relationship. I had a real hard time believing what I read when they first met. I know I sure don’t treat every Sargum Sam (woo-hoo southern slang!) like that when we first meet. Heck, I don’t even treat distant family members like that. I just can’t imagine living everyday of my life with anger and then it burning out at the drop of a hat.

Besides the storyline being set in the south, I really have no idea why she’s described as being a southern girl- because she is sweet? (Sweet and southern don’t always go together, y’all.) The south and being southern really had no purpose other than to put distance between her and her father. Which is a little disappointing.

Even though I have some nitpicks with Sweet Evil, I enjoyed reading it and I didn’t want to stop (I admit I stopped several times to try and make the book last longer- it didn’t work). I only hope that the sequel will come out soon and solve all of those mysterious questions I have burning on my tongue.

