Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Vampire Academy (Vampire Academy #1) by Richelle Mead
332 pages
Published August 16th 2007
Buy at Amazon

Frostbite (Vampire Academy #2) by Richelle Mead
327 pages
Published April 10th 2008
Buy at Amazon

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead
443 pages
Published November 13th 2008
Buy at Amazon

**No spoilers in this review! :3
If you wondering why I’m combining my review, it’s because I read them all together and my feelings for them are meshed. ><

Review:

I’m pretty shocked at how engrossed I became with Vampire Academy, right from page one. My 2 month streak of being unable to read was shattered by vampires, gossip, secrets, and overall badassery. I’m honestly hooked on it.

Rose is really what makes the story. Her personality is sarcastic enough to be funny, but not over the top to where you would get exasperated. She does do a few questionable things and it made me want to strangle her. Otherwise, Rose is what keeps you going. I loved reading about her telling someone off or saying things that I myself have said before (I admit, I snorted while reading Vampire Academy). Her friend, vampire princess, Lissa is pretty ‘meh’ in my opinion. It might be because she so unstable and needy that I really didn’t like her that well. The rest of the cast felt like your typical high school kids (and teachers), just a little meaner and just as eager for gossip. Well, except for Dimitri, the handsome Russian guardian. He’s Rose’s instructor and he’s a whole other story and I don’t want to spoil you.

I do have a gripe with Frostbite. We get a new male character (who is freaking awesome, by the way) and instead of having a love triangle, we get a love quadrangle. Yeah. I see your disbelieving look. Rose + guy + guy + guy = drama. While I don’t necessarily disapprove of love triangles, I quite like them, but to me, it felt as though these guys were here to say, “Rose can be loved even though she is a dhampir. Look, she’s not just gorgeous- see everyone wants her love!” or something to that effect. I get it! Rose wants a relationship, she doesn’t want to be a blood whore (whoops, maybe you should stop flirting so much and giving the wrong impression, ya?), and I feel these guys are just there for…show. Well, almost all of them.

I’m usually not the kind of person who gets interested in explanations of history or a person who wants to know more about a characters ancestors. So, I totally didn’t expect to get so caught up in it when Rose was digging through the past. I wanted to know more because the way it was explained fascinated me. The writing was a pretty big factor when it came to keeping me interested. I liked how it flowed and I was able to keep reading without feeling an overflow of information. In the first 3 books, you get constant explanations, there is always something that needs to be explained- BUT, like I said above, it’s done in a such a way that you’re not overburdened with dialogue you’re not going to remember. Trust me, you’ll remember it.

You will fly through Vampire Academy, devour Frostbite, and be absolutely shocked with Shadow Kiss (hello massive cliffhanger, how are you?). I might be the only person under the sun who is just now reading these, but if you’re putting them off- STOP. Grab your book and start reading. These books are worth the read and not to be missed.

