Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Hopeless Magic (Star-Crossed #2) by Rachel Higginson
559 KB
Published August 6th 2011
Buy at Amazon
4.5 stars
After returning home from Romania, and successfully saving her best friend Lilly, Eden Matthews must now come to terms with her future as an Immortal. She is in love with the Crowned Prince, but he is betrothed to someone else. Her family desperately wants her to join their rebellion, but that would mean fighting against her one, true love, Kiran Kendrick. She must fight off assassins that want her dead, an Immortal rite of passage that takes her to India and a deadly disease that no one has thus far survived. Danger seems to lurk around every corner as Eden struggles to keep her true identity a secret and protect those that she loves. Eden must find a way to be with Kiran, or turn her back on him forever and fight to save her people. Hopeless Magic is the second installment of the Star-Crossed series.

Review:

Last September, I reviewed the first book, Reckless Magic, and loved it to pieces. I finally got my hands on book two and I was not disappointed!

Eden is a bit whiny this time around and it makes it hard for me to feel sorry for her or even sympathize with her. I’m slightly disappointed that her character was all Kiran this, Kiran that, and really gave no caution to what her brother or Jericho told her. However, when it came down to the nity grity, Eden gets the job done and is seriously bad-ass. Eden is still an awesome heroine and I’m expecting some great things from her since the end of the book was such a shocker.
Kiran, my darling Kiran, what happened to you? I noticed a change in his personality this time around. You could definitely see something was up with him. He became the jealous, possessive boyfriend we all want to backhand. Of course, he wasn’t like this all time, but I definitely missed the smirking Kiran from last time. **Spoiler**Honestly, I don’t believe you for a minute Kiran! You can’t just say, “And is this happiness…Am I…Am I worth this?” And then produce the big bang! I seriously think something is happening that we weren’t told about this time around!**end spoiler**

I’ve been rooting for Jericho for a while now. I loved him in this first book, and I’m glad to see he was brought in as a serious contender for Eden. Yes, yes, I’m definitely for Jericho being the one she ends up with! I do like Kiran (no matter his faults), but Jericho, I swoon over him every time.

I did notice a few grammar mistakes or certain things seemed out of place. The most noticeable being when Lilly went to get her camera and Eden left without taking pictures. While it may have a few mistakes, they weren’t incredibly noticeable, and they were so far in between that they don’t hinder your reading experience.

The story is fast paced, with never a dull moment. Between the colourful characters and the world the author has created, it really hooks you in and you’re unable to do nothing else but continue to read to the very end.

Trust me, the Star-Crossed series is well worth your time.

I’d like to point out that the first book is free! Grab it while you can!

