Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson #5) by Patricia Briggs
342 pages
Published March 10th 2010
Buy at Amazon

When mechanic and shapeshifter Mercy Thompson attempts to return a powerful Fae book she’d previously borrowed in an act of desperation, she finds the bookstore locked up and closed down. It seems the book contains secret knowledge-and the Fae will do just about anything to keep it out of the wrong hands. And if that doesn’t take enough of Mercy’s attention, her friend Samuel is struggling with his wolf side-leaving Mercy to cover for him, lest his own father declare Sam’s life forfeit. All in all, Mercy has had better days. And if she isn’t careful, she might not have many more to live…

Review:

So, I’ve skipped reviewing Bone Crossed (which I believe is the most well-paced book so far), in favor of reviewing Silver Borne.
Why?
Read on and find out why this has become my least favourite Mercy Thompson book.

With Mercy and Adam’s relationship blooming, Samuel is left high and dry. Of course, the relationship has been progressing that way for some time now and it was nothing new. That’s not the problem here. Samuel’s character is ruined in Silver Borne. Yes. I said it. Ruined. It starts with his wolf taking control- that was fine, really. It was actually pretty awesome to see how a person would be affected if their wolf took control. Since Sam has amazing control (as in, his wolf doesn’t start a blood bath) and Mercy wants to save him, we get into the find-something-for-Sam-to-live-for-while-keeping-his-wolf-a-secret scenario.

I’m a huge fan of Sam, I adore his character. But he was used as a plot device. And it sucked. The whole book ultimately ended up being a way to get Sam out of the way, permanently, as a contender for Mercy. Toward the end of the book, we meet a character who had a past relationship with him and it just wasn’t believable. We’ve been set to believe that Sam loves Mercy, and that even though Mercy has Adam, she loves Sam too. I could go on a tirade, but I’m not, I don’t want to. What I will say is that Sam got the short end of the stick and his whole storyline has left me deeply disappointed (and drops my rating down a star).

Other than that, I don’t really having any more grips. I do think that you-know-who getting kidnapped was pointless, but the action of the story, the edge of your seat thrill was there. Mercy gets into a pickle when someone plays around with the pack bond, making her do things she wouldn’t normally do. My heart literally stopped a few times during the book- I couldn’t believe some of the stuff that happened!

We do get an alpha battle, we get explosions, and most importantly, we get Bran to save the day!

While I’m upset with the way Sam is getting treated, it’s still an excellent MT book and definitely worth the read.

I’d also like to say Mike, Patricia’s husband, took the time to comment on my review at Amazon and he gave a little insight on why Samuel’s storyline happened the way it did. Definitely give that post a read if you felt the way I did about Sam’s character.

