Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver
375 pages
Expected publication: February 28th 2012
Preorder at Amazon
(4 1/2 stars)


I received this ARC thanks to The Delirium Trilogy at Facebook and HarperCollins.

I’m pushing aside the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

–The below is the summary from the back of my ARC.

The old Lena is dead.

The old Lena remains with Alex in Portland, Maine, behind a wall of smoke and flame, but the new Lena was borne in the Wilds, transformed by hardship, deprivation, and loss.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena fights for a world in which love will no longer be considered a dangerous disease. Her inner life is as turbulent as the wold around her…Although consumed with grief for Alex, might she be falling in love with someone else?

Review:

I’m incredibly shocked at how much I loved Pandemonium. This is coming from a person who very much disliked Delirium. Book number two completely blows the first one out of the water. This is how a sequel is done!

Lena is incredibly strong this time around. She’s a little wishy-washy at times, true, but if you compare her character before and after, this Lena is much more relatable. I actually like her. This may also be because I didn’t like Alex (Yes, I said it!) and I got to read her character without all the lovesickness.
We do have a whole new cast of characters and I’m happy to say I pretty much enjoyed them all. Especially Julian. Julian is the son of the founder of the DFA or Deliria-Free America. (You can imagine the trouble Lena gets into with him, seeing as she’s in the resistance.) His character surprised me. Seeing as how I didn’t like Alex, I was sure I wasn’t going to like Julian. But no, I really, really, like him. He’s like a cute puppy that has been kicked. You can’t help but want to cuddle him and make sure nothing bad ever happens to him again. I wish I could say more about him, but almost everything involving his character would be spoiling you on what’s to come.

I did find the chapters to be a tad confusing. They switch between “Now” and “Then” telling about the Lena now and the Lena that was surviving in the Wilds. It does make the flow information weird. As long as you read the chapter headings you shouldn’t get too confused. All in all, I wasn’t too fond of the chapters being set up like that. I would almost say that the “Then” chapters weren’t needed. Sure, a few things needed to be explained, but the “Now” chapters were so much more interesting!

I found the curse words to be a little misplaced. They popped up randomly and I pretty much cringed every time I saw one. Not that there are lots of them, in fact there are very few, but they are so out of place that it throws you off what you were reading about. Many times I stopped and thought, “Was this really needed?” Being that the book is mostly tame (very tame, I should say) having these curse words appear just didn’t mesh.

The story was awesome and kept me at the edge of my seat. There’s a lot of survival battles and death compared to the previous book- which is a good thing.

We do get a major cliffhanger. By major, I mean wet your pants major, CPR major, and allover, oh no she didn’t major. Do not, I repeat, do not flip to the last page unless you wish to be spoiled. I made that mistake and felt like beating my head against the wall.

Now, if only Requiem wasn’t a year away…

