Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson #3) by Patricia Briggs
287 pages
Published January 2nd 2008
Buy at Amazon

I could smell her fear, and it satisfied something deep inside me that had been writhing under her cool, superior gaze. I curled my upper lip so she could get a good look at my sharp teeth. I might only weigh thirty or so pounds in my coyote shape, but I was a predator…

Mechanic Mercy Thompson can shift her shape – but not her loyalty. When her former boss and mentor is arrested for murder and left to rot behind bars by his own kind, it’s up to Mercy to clear his name, whether he wants her to or not.

Mercy’s loyalty is under pressure from other directions, too. Werewolves are not known for their patience, and if Mercy can’t decide between the two she cares for, Sam and Adam may make the choice for her…

Review:

**Warning: Rape victims may not feel comfortable with the last part of this book.

Iron Kissed started off as my least favourite in the series. I read about 80 pages until I stopped. Months went by before I picked it up again and read through it some more. After about halfway through, I can confidently say this is my favourite Mercy Thompson book.

The main reason I quit reading was because of the fae. I didn’t find the beginning to be interesting and it started to feel repetitive. Have Mercy go out and do this, have Mercy do that. Bundle that with the fae, and it just didn’t mesh for me. I really had to drag myself through the first hundred pages. I don’t know what it is about the fae in this series, but I just don’t like reading about them. Maybe it’s cause I’m more of a vampire/werewolf person?

After that, Briggs becomes super awesome and gives us loads of development and a slight setback.
• We finally see Mercy become ‘real’. Up until Iron Kissed, I felt her character was too perfect. Sure, she made mistakes, but with this book, I finally feel as though I know her.
• We finally get development in the relationship front and issues get resolved (mostly). Being the third book, I’m glad Mercy finally made a choice. As much as I love a love triangle between these three (I have no hope for you Stefan, take your love elsewhere, k?), I am glad a decision was made.
• We finally get Ben’s past cleared up. Finally. I love him and his foul mouth.

This book is loads darker than the previous two. It has more violence, it has more blood, it’s more emotional, especially when you get over halfway through. I would almost say the ending is not for everyone, that is, if you didn’t have Bone Crossed to pick up next and see what happens next. I was very shocked at the ending, and of course I made assumptions. Don’t be shocked at the ending and just pick up the next book. It will calm you. I promise.

Definitely have the next book available after reading Iron Kissed and if you’re like me, and don’t like the fae, just give it a chance and push through it, you won’t be disappointed.

