Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi
338 pages
Published November 15th 2011
Buy at Amazon

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
 
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
 
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Review:

I am blown away by Shatter Me. Honest to God, blown away.

The writing is beyond brilliant. I loved how Tahereh Mafi made the words flow. Not only that, but it’s insanely descriptive- in a good way. I’ve gotten chills so many times, I’ve lost count. It’s beautiful the way things are described. It made me question my sanity at times.
Reading through the eyes of Juliette is addicting. The way she thinks, the way she acts, it’s scary.

“My skin is cold-sweat, my fingers trembling with disgust, my legs unable to withstand the waste the waste the waste the selfish waste in these 4 walls. I’m seeing red everywhere. The blood of bodies spattered against the windows, spilled across the carpets, dripping from the chandeliers.”

I just can’t get over how crazy she is at times, it’s part of what makes me like her so much. Juliette has been locked up for a year and because her touch can be lethal, well, it’d make anyone go a little coo-coo.
I didn’t really develop an opinion about Adam, I think he’s hunky and I wish I were his cellmate, but that’s about it. Warner, on the other hand, I felt loads of sympathy for him. Despite him being a real jerk, I can’t wait to see more from him. (I’d almost call myself Team Warner…almost.)

The ending left me feeling unsated. Compared to the rest of the book, the ending didn’t make a huge impression on me. In fact, I’m a little frustrated by it.

All in all, I really don’t have a bad thing to say about Shatter Me. It was terrific, from the characters, to the plot, it’s all just weaved together perfectly. I can hardly wait to see what’s in Juliette’s future. I definitely, definitely, recommend picking this one up.

