Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Crescendo (Hush, Hush #2)
by Becca Fitzpatrick
427 pages
Published October 19th 2010 
Buy at Amazon
 3 1/2 stars

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it: a mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But, despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever and even worse, he’s started spending time with Nora’s arch-enemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadnt been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feeling that he’s hiding something.

Haunted by images of her murdered father, and questioning whether her nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death, Nora puts herself increasingly in dangerous situations as she desperately searches for answers. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

Review:

Their might be slight -huge- spoilers for Crescendo. Proceed with caution.

While I enjoyed Hush, Hush, I didn’t fully enjoy Crescendo until the book was almost over.
Here’s why:

Patch and Nora. Early on, their relationship starts having problems and Patch does a 360 personality switch and Nora is just…bitchy and whiny. Their drama lasted the whole book and I’m still not sure what their problem was. I was absolutely fed up with them. Nora obsessing over Patch and doing stupid things, they were forever making me want to strangle them.

Marcie and Patch. I honestly don’t get it. They made me want to strangle myself.
For Patch to want to be with Nora so bad, he sure does move on quick. I’m forever side-eyeing you, Patch.

Vee. I will never understand the appeal of the pushy best friend. I can’t stand to read about her. It’s weird though. She’s keeps being called ‘curvy’ or ‘fat’ and she’s constantly on a diet, but yet, she’ll parade around in a bikini?

Scott. He started off real well and then just sort turned into a psychopath. He had a butt-load of promise and then I was completely let down.

Nora’s clothes. Yes, this one gets its own mention. “I tugged on dark-wash matchstick jeans and a black fitted tee.” “I squeezed into a pair of toothpick jeans, pulled on a graphic tee and cardigan, and finished the look with suede driving mocs.” What the devil is toothpick or matchstick jeans? It seems a little rude to comment on character clothing, but I was constantly getting irritated by reading about fitted shirts, snug jeans, etc. I like clothing descriptions, but the above is the same thing as saying, “I flung on some clothes.”

Now, the story is not too bad. There were times (a lot of times actually) when I didn’t quite understand, but otherwise, it had some interesting moments. I liked the twists and I can’t believe a few things happened. I totally didn’t see them coming! Those moments made the time spent dragging through Nora’s love life worth it. I still can’t over what happened (& if you read Crescendo, you know what I mean!). My only gripe was how it ended! We get left with a stupid cliff hanger. The book was just starting to get really good too.

In the end, I didn’t devour it like I did the first one. It took me several days to even read it – thanks to Nora (she’s definitely not a worthy heroine anymore). All in all, it’s a guilty pleasure…and Patch is still hot.

