Tags

, , , , ,

Musing Mondays hosted @ shouldbereading

This week’s musing asks…

What kind of books do you like to read?
Why? Provide specific examples.

I’m really into anything paranormal, supernatural, young adult, manga, historical romance, and contemporary romance. I even like reading video game instruction manuals, especially if it has pretty pictures inside.

The reason I like para/supe books is because I like to believe that the things that go bump in the night really do exist. Whether it be vampires, werewolves, ghosts, fairies, I’ve gotta believe in it and read it! I swear I’ve even had a few ghost encounters!

With young adult books, I like to say I’m reliving high school through the characters. I did’t have much of a social/relationship life in HS or as a teen so in a way, I get to experience it a thousand different ways.

Manga! It started with Pokemon (you should see my collection!) and it just grew. I don’t know why exactly I like it, I just know that I do.

Historical Romances. Growing up, my mom and grandma were always reading them. Curious as I am, I always wondered why those women were half naked and why those men looked so good (poor young me, you didn’t quite understand). About two years ago, I finally swiped a few of my grandmas books (after I had been reading tame harlequins). Why yes, that handsome man on the cover does attract me and yes, a few days later I spilled the beans and didn’t have to hide them anymore. xDD

Now, contemporary romances are still something really new to me. I read harlequins from the 70s and 80s, and I eventually bought one that had been written within the last few years. I like that I can read about adults and not have all that aggravating “I just can’t kiss him yet or my body is just not ready” theme in YA. (Not to say that is EVERY YA book, but I like the steamy stuff too, OK?)

Ex:

This weeks MM is brought to you by: Feeding time!

I had too much fun with this post. :]

