Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Switched (Trylle Trilogy #1) 
by Amanda Hocking 
293 pages
Expected publication: January 3, 2012
Pre-order at Amazon
I received an ARC of Switched thanks 
to LibraryThing Early Reviewers and 
St. Martin's Griffin. 
 

**Mash-up summary.

SWITCHED at birth…

When, Wendy Everly was six years old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her.
Eleven years later, Wendy discovers her mother may have been right.

With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – and it’s one she’s not sure if she wants to be a part of.

Discover the magical world of Trylle…
Learn what it means to be more than human.

Review:

I really loved the beginning of Switched, it was interesting and it got me hooked…until the story all but stopped moving.

Prepare for vagueness:
As far as characters goes, Wendy is pretty wishy-washy. At times, all she can do is tremble and nod her head, and at others she actually says something worthwhile. When she goes back to where her ‘real’ family is she knows NOTHING. No one tells her anything and while she wants to know what is going on, she still goes along with everything. It really bothered me how she complained and said how much she hated where she was staying and never did anything about it. She’s bratty, everyone hates her at school (it’s an automatic thing, she gets kicked out of one school and at the next one she goes to everyone hates her), she thinks the new guy is weird until all of a sudden, he’s hot- really, she’s just a character that you can’t get genuinely interested in or feel sorry for.
As for Finn, he’s better than Wendy, but he puts on the “I don’t like you. You’re only the job.” type act. It gets old fast.
The only character that I really liked was Rhys and I can’t say much about him other than he’s like a cute puppy, otherwise, I’d be done spoiled you big time.

The whole idea of a changeling is pretty neat, but come on. You switch your kid out for them to get a better education and then when they come home you swindle money from their foster family. On top of that, your say that your education system is bad (one of the reasons that changelings exist) and yet, YOU HAVE ALL THAT MONEY? Can you not hire better teachers or are you just using your kids to fund your extravagant lifestyle?
Also, I just can’t believe the tier system when it comes to people. Human kids are pretty much treated like crap. Sure, you get everything you want, but love from your parents? Usually not. Babied by nannies? Absolutely. Talked down to? Not worthy of being in the same room as the higher ups? Check and check. I have to roll my eyes at this. *eye roll*

The story is interesting… When Wendy finally moves to where her ‘real’ family is, I thought the excitement would pick up. Instead, I got to read about how Wendy didn’t like her mom, or about her wanting to be with Finn, or about her wanting to kiss him. The excitement from the beginning just faded. She had very few moments that made me smile and it was until near the end that it picked up. Or should I say, the pause button was pressed and we had finally gotten to the point where the play button was suddenly relevant again. Also, the ending, we’re told rather than shown. I felt it was pretty cheap to skip the part with Rhys, and seriously, I can’t believe that the security is so lacking that what happened happened. Incredibly vague, I know.

Overall, it’s not terrible. It doesn’t make me want to go out and buy the sequel and it doesn’t make me want to reread it again. I definitely recommend borrowing this one from the library before buying it.

