Tags

,

Follow Friday is a blog hop hosted by Parajunkee and Alisoncanread.

Question: What is your biggest pet peeve when it comes to books? Maybe you don’t like love triangles or thin plots?

I have several! (Please excuse me.)

Male leads that are overly arrogant and treat the heroine like crap. Yet, she’s still in love with him! Hello, he is being super mean and your just standing there making googly eyes at him and you’re not worried about his mental problems? I just don’t understand this and I see this way too often.

Whiny females (or should I say characters) that won’t stop with their whining! You’ve lost your boyfriend, he doesn’t want anything to do with you, and you still obsess over him and pout whenever he doesn’t look at you. Any character who whines about something when the answer is staring them right in the nose and they refuse to show any sort of intelligence (and at the end they save the world or come up with a super brilliant plan) usually makes me pull out my hair. I have bald spots now. Don’t get me wrong, I can stand some whining, but when it becomes the main plot of the story I opt out.

The token bitch, usually blonde, popular, is friends with the heroines crush and so on. They live to make the heroine miserable (and the heroine takes it) until something grand happens- the heroine gets a hot guy, she becomes a vampire, she all of a sudden becomes hot, etc.

An event that is built up only to be resolved peacefully. The bad guys are out to kill everyone, you’re going to meet them head on, and then nothing happens. No one dies, the bad guy magically disappear, and not one speck of blood has been spilled on the carpet. Give me deaths if you’re going to build it up like that! Give me some kind of action to justify 300 pages of hunting the bad guys down!

Which comes to, avoiding a vital piece of information and ignoring it for 100 pages when all of sudden it becomes relevant. You had it earlier, you could have prevented Bobs death and the destruction of Planet Rukus. *blinks*

Last, but certainly not least (I could keep going), love at first sight. The heroine sees the main male and thinks he is soooo sexy or soooo mysterious, and then, oh no, she’s in love. Next thing you know, they’re both making out and I’m wondering if that two minute conversation counted as a date. I know love at first sight can be real, but most times, it’s just not written in a way that will make me believe it. ):

