Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Iron King (Iron Fey #1)
by Julie Kagawa 
363 pages
Published February 1st 2010
Buy at Amazon
 4 1/2 stars

Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.
Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.
But she could never have guessed the truth – that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she’ll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart.

Review:

If you’re like me and have an over active imagination, at night you’ll definitely think the goblins are out to get you! Not that The Iron King is scary, but Julie Kagawa has a way that makes you think what you’re reading is real. I had my bump in the night experiences while reading it and it just made it that much better!

I took this book everywhere with me. Shopping? No problem. Eating? I can do it with one hand. Sleeping? I’ll sleep with one eye open…Yeah, that’s how much I enjoyed it. And the characters! I’ve never met a cat I didn’t like and I loved Grimalkin, but I call him Cait Sith (since it reminds me of Final Fantasy 7). I also fell for Puck, Meghan’s friend, and I wish there was more from him. There’s always the next book, right?
Meghan, however, I disliked. Well, I take that back, I disliked how she constantly needed saving, she constantly traipsed off and got herself into trouble. I wanted to send her off to Queen Titania! While she may have dived head first, I really liked her strength and that she was a character that didn’t go in loops when she said things.

I think the love interest played out a little slow in the beginning because the next thing I knew Meghan was in love. I didn’t really get any of that touchy feely love stuff. There were eye stares, catch-me-if-I-fall things, but I really needed more scenes with Meghan and her love interest to solidify that, yes, they were falling for each other.

The writing was good, the characters were good, the setting/world was plain amazing, and that ending was…just…whoa…more please!
(Preferably with Ash and a bow around him. Can he be my Christmas present?)

