Tags

, ,

Musing Mondays hosted @ shouldbereading

This week’s musing asks…

How do you decide to read a book by an author you haven’t read before? What sort of recommendations count most highly in making that decision?

Most time, it’s trial and error on my part. If it sounds interesting, I’m most likely going to buy it. If it looks pretty, I have a hard time saying no (which results in a lot of face-palming). Who the author is usually isn’t a deciding factor for me. (Unless they’re on my favourites list. Then I buy without reserve.) I am skeptical when I come across an author I’ve never read, because I’m thinking, “There’s no way that this book can be better than so-and-so.” I did this with The Mercy Thompson series, the summary sounded interesting, so, I bought three books- loved them and turned around and bought two more, plus 2 others from that same author. The power of an awesome summary and an eye catching first page is amazing.

I do like to check other bloggers reviews, if I see a lot of negatives, I most likely won’t buy it. That is, if I’m determined for the book to be good and I buy it any way and then wish I had listened to their better judgement. I’m also a big fan of Goodreads and Amazon. Ultimately, in the end, I’ll rely on bloggers for genres I don’t usually read or books that I’m just not sure about.

