Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Mr. Perfect by Linda Howard
405 pages
Published July 1st 2001 
(first published July 25th 2000)
Buy at Amazon

What would make the perfect man?

That’s the deliciously racy topic that Jaine Bright and her three girlfriends are pondering one night at their favorite after-hours hot spot: Mr. Perfect. Would he be tall, dark and handsome? Caring and warmhearted – or will just muscular do? As their conversation heats up, they concoct a tongue-in-cheek checklist that becomes an overnight sensation, spreading like wildfire at work and sizzling along e-mail lines. But what began as a joke among friends turns deadly serious when one of the four women is murdered… Turning to her neighbor, an unpredictable police detective, for help, Jaine must unmask a killer to save her friends – and herself. Now, knowing whom to trust and whom to love is a matter of survival – as the dream of Mr. Perfect becomes a chilling nightmare.

Review:

One thing I love about Linda Howard is that she writes murder and mysteries for people who don’t like…well, murder and mysteries. She combines everything into a package that’s a perfect mix of sex (s’cuse me, romance), mystery, thriller, and dialogue that makes you laugh out loud. Linda Howard is an auto-buy on my list and Mr. Perfect is not an exception.

I’d be lying if I said I didn’t read her books for the hunky male characters (who usually aren’t buttholes, control freaks, Edward Cullen, etc) and the tension that is almost always guaranteed between the main couple, in this case: Jaine and Sam. I love Jaine and her smart mouth. She always has a comeback, and she is the leader when it comes to making you laugh or snort- note: do not drink while reading this book, you will spew it all over yourself. Add a sexy cop named Sam and you have chemistry that sizzles. I’ve lost count of how many times I laughed, grinned, fanned myself, and over all enjoyed myself because of these two characters and when they argued it was golden. – Just saying, Sam would be my Mr. Perfect, I really liked his character that well.

In Mrs. Howard’s books, there’s always the ‘bad guy’ that’s after the main character. In Mr. Perfect, the bad guy is written in a way that makes you want to double check your locks and take precautions at night. You won’t even guess who it is until after she’s told you and they’ve killed several times- unless you have really awesome deductive skills. The hunt is always full of suspense, but never enough that you flat out feel terrified. I do feel a little let down that the confrontation scene wasn’t bigger. I didn’t feel the threat (as in OMG she’s about to die!!) on Jaine’s life during the scene, there was just something missing.

I read this one in a little over a day and I loved every single minute of it.

Some of my favourite quotes (because I want to give you more incentive to read it):

“At the moment, he kinda knew how the male praying mantis felt when he was approaching Ms. Mantis, knowing the sex was going to be great but he was going to gethis head bitten off.
Ah, well. Some things were worth losing your head.”

“Don’t kiss me,” she said warningly.
“I don’t intend to,” he replied, smiling a little. “I don’t have my whip and chair with me.”

“I’m not holding you against your will; I’m holding you against your car.”

“Honey, the only experts in PMS are men. That’s why men are so good at fighting wars; they learned Escape and Evade at home.”

