Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Every Other Day 
by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
336 pages
Expected publication: 12/27/2011
Preorder at Amazon
I received this ebook from Netgalley,
thanks to Egmont USA.

Every other day, Kali D’Angelo is a normal sixteen-year-old girl. She goes to public high school. She attends pep rallies. She’s human.

And then every day in between…She’s something else entirely.

Though she still looks like herself, every twenty-four hours predatory instincts take over and Kali becomes a feared demon-hunter with the undeniable urge to hunt, trap, and kill zombies, hellhounds, and other supernatural creatures. Kali has no idea why she is the way she is, but she gives in to instinct anyway. Even though the government considers it environmental terrorism.

When Kali notices a mark on the lower back of a popular girl at school, she knows instantly that the girl is marked for death by one of these creatures. Kali has twenty-four hours to save her and, unfortunately, she’ll have to do it as a human. With the help of a few new friends, Kali takes a risk that her human body might not survive…and learns the secrets of her mysterious condition in the process.

Review:

Holy moley! Jennifer Lynn Barnes never fails to impress me or create a world that I fall right in to.

I wasn’t too sure about the first chapter, but once I got past it, and into the story, I couldn’t stop reading. I’d like to point out, that even though there are zombies, hellhounds, and such in Every Other Day, it is far from being a horror book.

The characters are more than awesome. Kali, our heroine, is a character you can’t dislike. She’s not annoying or whiny, she does what she has to do and she’s snarky without being overbearing. Her friends Bethany and Skylar could have been cliche and in most scenarios, I would have hated them. Bethany, the popular cheerleader, has more to offer than just that and I found myself really liking her despite it all. (It’s her attitude, plain and simple.) Skylar, the school slut, isn’t everything she seems and is probably one of the best characters in Every Other Day. Even the other characters with smaller roles are written nicely- especially Skylar’s brothers. I did want more from Skylar’s brothers, and I wished that they had played a bigger role.

What really makes you stick around is the twists and turns. You might figure something out, only to then have it proven completely wrong, and you’re left with a shocked look. I caught a lot of flies this way and I probably have a permanent jaw disfiguration, but it was worth it. I don’t know how many times I just sat there reading and being floored at the secrets that this story possessed. I had to keep reading. I had to find out what was going on.

However, it did end abruptly, and I didn’t feel any sort of closure. I’m also disappointed with Zev and the lack of him, but I never really got the feeling that this was supposed to be a book with romance, so, in a way, it’s not disappointing at all- and saying anymore about him would lead to inevitable spoilers. There are also a lot of unanswered questions about specific people and the details regarding what Kali is (not to mention the supernatural creatures/things/everything in general). All this leaves me wondering if there will be a sequel.

All in all, I loved Every Other Day. It’s not boring, but fast-paced and breathless that leaves you wanting more.

