Tags

, ,

Musing Mondays hosted @ shouldbereading

This week’s musing asks…

Are you currently collecting any authors? Why?
Do you have all of their books? If not, why not?
Did you buy all the books in the collection at the same time, or did you buy a book here, a book there? Have you actually read all of the collection? If not, why not?

I’m collecting books from Linda Howard, Nora Roberts, Stephenie Meyer, Patricia Briggs, George R. R. Martin, Meg Cabot, P. C. Cast, Suzanne Collins, Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins (Left Behind) and Madeline Baker (her old stuff). **Forgot to mention Charlaine Harris, her books were hiding behind others.
With Linda Howard and Nora Roberts, they introduced me romance fiction and I became huge fan of Howards when I read “After the Night.” For the rest of them, I just really enjoy their books and have to have them…I lie, it’s impulsive on my part and it nags me until I buy them. As if those books are gonna sprout legs and walk. Pssh.

I have all of Meyer’s books (& an extra copy of Eclipse. Looking to rebuy the set again, actually). About 40-50 of Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb books and 11 of Linda Howards. I read the rest of the the authors for their series. I’m missing at least 3 books from each author depending on the series. I do, however, have multiple copies of some books, I’ll get them as gifts, or I’ll pick them up at a thrift store because I’m all the time forgetting what I have.
The reason I don’t have all their books is because of money constraints. I’d love to go blow all my money on books, I’d happily fill a buggy full of books and then come back the next day and do it again…that’s a great fantasy up until my cats demand to be fed and their litter starts to stink. I buy when I can.

I bought all of Martins in the SOIAF book set, excluding the last one. Mostly I buy a book here, and then two books there. Buying a collection all at once is tough!
I’ve never read any of Meg Cabot’s books, but I have 8 of them, I just have to find the time. I haven’t made a dent in my Roberts collection, and I haven’t finished up any from Briggs either.
I used to be an author snob (for a very long time I only bought from Roberts, Howard, LaHaye and Meyer), until I found other books by other authors, and now I only occasionally read from Roberts. I find that if I just read a particular author for a few weeks, I’ll eventually get tired of the series/books and I won’t read anything else from them for awhile.

— I also collect the older historical romance novels (70/80/90s). There’s probably 300 of them in my shed and house. My grandmother and uncle reads them and I went through a historical phase and still enjoy them when I’m in the mood for a knight in shining armor. :]

