Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Crossed (Matched #2) by Ally Condie
384 pages
Published November 1st 2011
Buy at Amazon

The hotly awaited second book in the dystopian Matched trilogy

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky – taken by the Society to his certain death – only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander – who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart – change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

Review:

**Edit: I’d like to point out that the binding for Crossed is awful. My ‘brand new’ hardback is barely glued and acts like it’s going to fall apart any minute. I hope no one else has this problem.

If I could do a one word review it would consist of the word: boring.

I’ve never been so disappointed in a sequel (if you don’t count that atrocious book called Breaking Dawn). Crossed was boring. Cassia might have been trying to find Ky, but throughout her whole search, I just wasn’t feeling it. Boring also means nothing exciting happened. There were a few parts that I liked, but most of the time it was so monotone. How can there be 364 pages and there not be any type of movement in the storyline? If you don’t count the last 15 pages.

Chapters are switched to Ky or Cassia’s viewpoint. When I first started reading, I thought I was reading about Cassia, until I read something that didn’t make sense and backtracked. I did this so many times until I looked at “Chapter 5” and right under it it says, “KY”. There was nothing to tell me that he was speaking, that it was his time, and it bothered me that he didn’t have his own ‘voice’. I really dislike how the chapters were divided up between characters, it was very irritating and most of the time, I felt Ky really didn’t bring anything great to the plot during his POV. In fact, since reading things in his POV, I’ve found I don’t like him as much as I thought I did.
Some chapters were also just one page long and then it’d switch back to Cassia or Ky, when it was completely unnecessary for that one little chapter.

My main disappoint is with the amount of plot fillers. With the chapters POVs changing, there’s really a lot of stuff that just doesn’t fit. I’d get confused, and go back and reread and still not quite get it. I think most of this book I didn’t quite understand and I think it wasn’t explained properly.

I found myself thinking, “Why is Cassia even in love with Ky? Why is he even in love with her?” Honestly, I just can’t with their romance. It doesn’t make sense anymore and I just don’t believe it. With Xander, don’t let the summary fool you. He makes a very small appearance in Crossed and I really, really missed him.

We get a few questions that aren’t answered and I’m assuming they’ll be answered with the next book. One of them in particular is probably the only reason I’ll continue into Matched #3.

**Spoilers from Crossed:

I’m thinking that The Rising is very similar to the Society. Are they this ‘supposed’ enemy that the Society has been fighting? And that burned airship, it just doesn’t make good sense. I’m also getting a very Mockingjay feel to the storyline regarding The Rising.

