Tags

,

Musing Mondays hosted @ shouldbereading

This week’s musing asks…

Would you say that you read about the same amount now as when you were younger? More? Less? Why?

I think I was doing about the same. My school had a “Stars” program, if I’m not mistaken, and you had to read a certain amount and at the end of the semester that would qualify as your grade. I remember I got to go to parties and received awards because I read so much.

Though, after sixth grade I stopped reading and only read when I absolutely had to. That started the period of my life when reading just wasn’t cool anymore. It last until I was a Junior in high school when I heard about Twilight- yes, I have Twilight to thank for getting me back into reading. My best friend at the time asked me, “Why are you reading so much?” and she said it with so much disgust that it surprised me. Because hey, I was blowing off my friends for a date with Jacob Black and instead of watching that video in Anatomy about sperm, while my friends made fun of it and chattered, I was reading Twilight.

I would say that I enjoy reading much more now than I did back when I was younger. I’m not limited to reading what a school library deems acceptable or something that’s only appropriate for all ages. Now, I get to enjoy both the smutty stuff and the young adult stuff. I’m a happy camper. :)

