Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Crave (The Clann #1) by Melissa Darnell 
416 pages
Published October 25th 2011
Buy at Amazon
I received this ebook thanks to 
netgalley.

 3 1/2 stars

Savannah Colbert has never known why she’s so hated by the kids of the Clann. Nor can she deny her instinct to get close to Clann golden boy Tristan Coleman. Especially when she recovers from a strange illness and the attraction becomes nearly irresistible. It’s as if he’s a magnet, pulling her gaze, her thoughts, even her dreams. Her family has warned her to have nothing to do with him, or any members of the Clann. But when Tristan is suddenly everywhere she goes, Savannah fears she’s destined to fail.

For years, Tristan has been forbidden to even speak to Savannah Colbert. Then Savannah disappears from school for a week and comes back…different, and suddenly he can’t stay away. Boys seem intoxicated just from looking at her. His own family becomes stricter than ever. And Tristan has to fight his own urge to protect her, to be near her no matter the consequences….

Review:

I was hooked right when I started reading. It was very easy to just slip into and keep reading page after page. I like how both Savannah and Tristan’s POV were given. The only thing disappointing was that even with the switching of characters, I felt it was as if I were still reading Savannah and her thoughts. There really wasn’t a personality separator. The dialogue was the only distinguishing factor. I did get confused at times because I wasn’t sure which POV I was reading. I wish that when it said “Savannah” or “Tristan” it had been in bigger letters or a different format instead of just being italicized.

One thing Mrs. Darnell did was make Savannah feel ostracized by the Clann…and it works. She did such a good job at making me feel just so angry at the Clann or sad because Savannah just couldn’t figure out what she did wrong. Usually the main character is hated by everyone and has no friends. Savannah has friends. Great friends. Sure, she gets picked on by Dylan and the twins, but she has friends who will stick up for her!

The hunky Tristan (because he really does sound hunky) is part of The Clann as well, but he refrains from picking on her, but he doesn’t exactly stick up for her either. Savannah and Tristan (all the Clann kids) had been friends once upon a time. Until their parents had banned, more like forbidden, them to talk to one another. My Tristan is a rule breaker though, he likes Savannah and although he worries he’ll get found out, that doesn’t stop him.

Crave’s mythology is a little different than what I’ve read before, even though it’s different I really like it. Some of things mentioned in Crave I really haven’t seen anywhere else. It was refreshing.

Now, while I was hooked at the beginning, toward the middle it waned. I was a train chugging up a hill and every page I kept getting slower and slower. By the last 50 or so pages it really picked up and I enjoyed reading it. The middle though, it reminded me of plot fillers. It was really just to flesh out Tristan and Savannah’s relationship and I didn’t like it. I also didn’t like when certain important things were being explained, a seriousness that should have been there wasn’t. And because of that, I couldn’t take the important things seriously which was disappointing.

Crave isn’t bad. In fact, it’s pretty good, but for me, there were certain things that just couldn’t make me give it that four star review.

