Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Moon Called (Mercedes Thompson #1) by 
Patricia Briggs
288 pages
Published January 31, 2006
Buy at Amazon

Werewolves can be dangerous if you get in their way, but they’ll leave you alone if you are careful. They are very good at hiding their natures from the human population, but I’m not human. I know them when I meet them, and they know me, too.

Mercy Thompson’s sexy next-door neighbor is a werewolf.

She’s tinkering with a VW bus at her mechanic shop that happens to belong to a vampire.

But then, Mercy Thompson is not exactly normal herself … and her connection to the world of things that go bump in the night is about to get her into a whole lot of trouble.

Review:

I know Moon Called has been out for years now, but I only just 
discovered Patricia Briggs. My whole reaction to this book was, "Wow."
I love everything about Moon Called and I can't pick out a single
thing I dislike.

Mercy is just the kind of character that's easy to like. I never got
tired hearing her talk back or say something funny. She's an excellent
heroine, and I really liked that she knew how to say, "No." or she 
simply went ahead and did what she thought was right. She's also
a Walker. She can easily shift into the form of a coyote. 

While she doesn't have super strength, she's doing pretty good for
herself. She owns a garage and has Adam, the sexy werewolf neighbor 
(Can I get one too? ...A sexy neighbor, that is.) and a vampire friend
named Stefan. Adam is the neighborhood pack leader and a hunky love
interest- well, not exactly, but almost. 

The werewolves are portrayed as hot tempered, but they're also given 
this quality that makes them human...or should I say more relatable
than what you thought a werewolf would be. From what I've read of this
book and her other book Cry Wolf, Patricia Briggs has a way with words
and making characters appeal to you in a way that they become your 
friends. If they get hurt, you want to kill them yourself, if they
cry, well, hey, you're bawling your eyes out too.

All in all, why hadn't I found out about Mercy Thompson sooner?
Blood Bound is calling me to continue on this amazing series.
