Tags

, , , , , ,

Storm Born Comic issues 1-3 by Richelle Mead, Grant Alter, and Dave Hamann
Dark Swan series
All three issues available at the Sea Lion Store.
A big thanks to Sea Lion Books for contacting me with a review request and providing me a PDF copy!

Eugenie Markham never asked for any of this. Until now, she’s been content with her job as a freelance shaman, battling and banishing Otherworldly creatures. When a prophecy suddenly makes her the Otherworld’s most popular bachelorette, Eugenie finds herself fighting off unwanted supernatural suitors, as well as the evils that begin emerging from her past…

Review:

Let me first say, I have not read the Dark Swan series, but since 
reading this issue, I'll definitely be checking it out now. That's 
how much I loved these issues.

In all three issues they have gorgeous artwork. I love pretty things 
and I hate to say it, but usually that's the first thing I look for 
in a graphic novel. Sad, but true. I could tell by the cover that the 
insides were going to be pretty (let me insert other adjectives here: 
stunning, beautiful, dazzling, lovely, etc, etc...). 

Eugenie looks sexy, without being overly sexual. It's nice to see a 
character who looks badass in a t-shirt and jeans and not spandex and 
black leather. (Don't get me wrong, love black leather and spandex, 
but there's a such thing as too much of a good thing, yeah?)
I do think there were times when her facial expressions could have 
been cleaned up a bit and others when just a little more detail was 
needed.

Like I said, I've never read the novels, but I think the comic version
does an excellent job at storytelling. I never got a moment where I
felt lost or bored for that matter. It was also very easy to pick up 
the next issue and jump straight back into Eugenie's world.

My only qualm is at the very beginning of the first issue, I wasn't
sure if I had skipped a few parts into the story or if the story 
actually started there. It was quite apparent after a few pages in 
that that was how the comic started off.

For issues 1-3 I give it five stars. Can I times infinity it? Yes?
I'm very excited for issue 4 now!

I’d like to add: This is a comic for those who do not like comics, if that makes any sense.
** Mature and sexual themes are present in this comic.

