Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Reckless Magic (Star-Crossed #1) by Rachel Higginson
509 KB
Published March 14, 2011
Buy at Amazon
Heads up, right now this ebook is free! I’m not sure how long it will continue to be so, but go ahead and download now! You will not regret it!

16 year old Eden Matthews has been in and out of private schools for the last two years. She can’t seem to stop herself from closing them down. Kingsley is her last chance to finish high school and the last private school willing to accept her. She is focused on just getting through graduation until she realizes Kingsley is not like the other private schools she’s been to. The students may be different, but so is she. And after meeting Kiran Kendrick, the boy who won’t leave her alone and seems to be the source of all of her problems, she is suddenly in a world that seems more make-believe than reality. To top it off, she is being hunted by men who want to kill Kiran and her best friend Lilly is taken away to a foreign prison. Eden finds herself right in the middle of an ancient war, threatening everything she loves. She alone has to find a way to save her best friend and the boy who has captivated her heart. Reckless is an intricate story about mystery, adventure, magic and forbidden love. Eden Matthews is an unlikely heroine determined to save the world and be with her one, true love before its too late.

Review:

I passed by Reckless Magic twice, until I finally just went ahead and 
downloaded it (because, hey, it was free!). It turned out to be one of
the best decisions I've made.

Reckless starts off a little slow and I wasn't sure I wanted to keep 
reading. The prologue is written in third person and I was a little 
worried the whole book would be like that. Thankfully it wasn't and 
the first chapter was set in our main characters POV, first person 
POV that is. Eden is one of the better heroines I've read about and I 
can honestly say the only thing that bothered me was her inability to 
come to conclusions on her own. Otherwise, I loved her dialogue and 
attitude. I feel this way about all the characters. They had good 
personalities and were likable and relatable. (Though I did want to
strangle Avalon sometimes.) And can I just say how I love the names of
the characters? Avalon, Karin, Lucan, Talbott, Jericho, seriously, I
love them. 

One thing this book is good about is it continues on and never gives 
long, unneeded rambling passages or info dumps. It's not stagnant in 
any way and the pace has a nice flow. I love this so much, because I 
hate massive info dumps, when information is given it's given in such
a way that it's not overloading.

There are a few things to nitpick about. Kiran is often described as
having a smirk, it was really one of the only facial expressions he 
was described as having. There are grammar mistakes and words/phrases
that are used over in the same paragraph and a few times I had to go
back and read over what I just read because it had jumped to another
part. The only thing I can say I didn't like about it, was when 
certain important characters were talking, they might mention some-
thing important and it won't be commented on until paragraphs later. 
Or certain facts might be mentioned several times in several different
paragraphs. --This only happens maybe 4 times at the max. None of 
these things deteriorate the story.
In the beginning, I do think it read like another popular novel, but
by the times I was about 11% done I could see it had it's own little
style that it was totally addictive.

Yes, this book is highly addictive and I couldn't hardly stay away 
from my computer. Thanks to Reckless I even missed a few meals (though
I admit I brought a huge bowl of ice cream and ate while I read). I'd
really love to have a hardcopy of this, but it's only available in 
ebook format at this time.

I'm anxious to begin book number two now in what is said to be a 
4-part series. I seriously can't wait to see what is in the future for
the star-crossed lovers.
