Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega #1) by Patricia Briggs
294 pages
Published July 29, 2008
Buy at Amazon

Anna never knew werewolves existed until the night she survived a violent attack…and became one herself. After three years at the bottom of the pack, she’d learned to keep her head down and never, ever trust dominant males. But Anna is that rarest kind of werewolf: an Omega. And one of the most powerful werewolves in the country will recognize her value as a pack member—and as his mate.

 

Alpha & Omega: A Companion Novella to Cry Wolf (Alpha & Omega 0.5)
Buy at Amazon

This was my break reading material. I’ve been reading Cassandra Clare’s books for so long I had to have a break. Things were getting too angsty and too frustrating, so for about a week I’m going to read a few other things and then ease myself back into it (for I’ve heard terrible things about book 4!). *sigh*

Review:

If you're interested in reading this series (and why wouldn't you 
be?!), I strongly recommend reading the companion novella to Cry Wolf. 
It will save you much time and confusion. Trust me.

There is so much to love about this book, so, so much. Every character
is amazing- not as in 'perfect' but as in essential. Anna, our leading
lady, is probably one of my favourite main characters. She's not only
strong, she can be weak, but she's not without backbone. Anna has been
through so much. She was changed against her will, brutalized, truly 
her life has been hell since she was changed and even then, she was 
never really beaten down. 

You'd think the story would be about Anna falling in love with 
Charles, becoming his mate, etc. The description doesn't do the book
justice. It's not just about that, but discovering the secrets that 
lay beneath certain members of the pack, of Anna learning what an 
Omega is, and of finding out just what exactly is hiding in the 
Cabinet Wilderness. 

I love everything about Cry Wolf, with my favourite characters being
Bran and Asil, I'm glad they get a lot of face time. I think Cry Wolf
is a good example of getting over abuse, moving on, and becoming apart
of something big. I definitely recommend this if you want something 
different to read.

Wow, so, y’all know I don’t like putting spoilers in my reviews (forever mad at you City of Glass for ruining that) and Cry Wolf was no exception. Can I say how awesome Bran was? Of course, it was completely terrifying the way it was described, but he was awesome. And Asil, suffering for so long without telling a soul. These characters really pull at your heartstrings!

