Tags

, , , , , , , ,

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare
683 pages
Published March 24, 2009
Buy at Amazon

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters — never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadow-hunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadow-hunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her new found powers to help save the Glass City — whatever the cost?

Review:

I am so disappointed with City of Glass. I was hoping the alternating
POV would stop, but it didn't. There was text that just so long-winded
that I found myself skipping over it. Not to mention the needless 
death and everything else that was just needless.

How could the third book go downhill so quickly? The second book 
"Ashes" was really good and "Glass" started off good, but it just 
stopped. I can't pinpoint where it lost its luster, the only thing 
that matters is that it did.

**Spoilers**

I never do spoilers, but this book deserves it.

1) The alternating POV. I like reading from Clary's perspective and 
only Clary's perspective. Ashes did this as well, but not as bad. 
I read POV's from Simon, Jace, and even Isabelle. It wouldn't have 
been so bad if the POV was switched when something unimportant was 
going on or maybe a POV switch for every chapter, but no. There'd be a
few paragraphs from Clary's POV and then a paragraph from Jace's POV 
and then switched back to Clary's and then back again all during stuff
that was very important. Seriously, I don't care how Jace thought the 
valley looked or how he lost his piece of thread. 

2) When they, Luke and Clary, get to the City of Glass a lot of long
text starts to appear. I don't know how many times I skipped over text
that was so boring I thought about stopping. There's also a lot of 
repeat sentences. Throughout the book some things were mentioned up
to three times. It made me want to pull out my hair because it had 
already been discussed or said.

3) Sebastian, Sebastian, Sebastian, or should I say Johnathon? Either
way, how could they have not known? How could his evil ass even have 
passed through demon wards? He had demon blood and yet the demon wards
magically let him pass? I just...no. Sebastian also gives us two 
deaths. Both of which were unfair and shouldn't have happened.

4) Simon is the worst vampire in the history of worst vampires.

5) It took them three books to rid them of their father? And they 
didn't even kill him with their own hands? Everything about that is 
so... anticlimactic.

**End spoilers**

I honestly can't with this book. There is so much fail that I was 
choking on it. This series could have been wrapped up in one book, 
possibly two, instead I have 3 more to read?
Yes, I'm going to let myself suffer through the rest of the series.

I give it two stars for the beginning, which was actually good, and
for Ithuriel who was actually pretty interesting.
