Tags

, , , , , , , ,

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare
464 pages
Published March 25, 2008
Buy at Amazon

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Review:

Wow. City of Ashes is so much better than it's predecessor. I can
finally say I really enjoy this series (hopefully I'm not jinxing
myself). Everything really came together in this book, to the point I
was wishing I could enter in the magical world and see what all they
were seeing. I seriously enjoyed reading it.

But, like the last book, there were a few things that bothered me.
The main problem was Clary and Simon. Clary is supposed to be in love
with Jace, but here she is kissing Simon or making-out with Simon,
when it's one-sided. I know Jace is supposedly 'forbidden' territory,
but leading someone on for the sake of getting over him is stupid. I
was so irritated at how that was played out.

Another thing was that scenes weren't fully developed. I'd be reading
and something would happen that wasn't even described. Several times
I'd read over what I'd just read to make sure I didn't miss anything.
This happens about three times, including during a key scene. 

Otherwise, I think character development was pretty good. Though, I'm
not liking Maia or the obligatory gay characters (love Alec though,
wish he got bigger parts) or the, "My daddy is big and evil and I miss
every importunity to kill him even though I'm more than given the
chance."

I just wish something not so obvious would happen. Guess I got a few
more books to see if my wish comes true!

Can I just go on a rant about the whole Clary/Jace thing?

I honestly don’t think they are related. Not with Imogen being all like she was at the end when she saw Jace’s scar. And when Valentine was talking to Clary in the ship, he said Jocelyn didn’t want their second child to become a monster like the first, (Then Clary says, “Jace isn’t a monster!” Or something like that) then Valentine said, “I wasn’t talking about-” SO OBVIOUS. COME ON NOW. Jace can not be her brother. I will not allow it- unless Luke somehow jumps in the picture, but I know for a fact that won’t happen and Alaric is dead so I can’t ship them. Boo.

I’ll just be happy when there’s a lull in the angst. ♥

–Last time I said City of Bones read like fanfiction, this time, City of Ashes read like manga.

Awaiting the dancing chibis.

