Tags

, , , , , , , ,

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments #1) by Cassandra Clare
485 pages
Published March 27, 2007
Buy at Amazon

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder – much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing – not even a smear of blood – to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know….

Review:

I have...very mixed feelings about City of Bones. I liked it, but I
didn't like it. I wanted to keep reading, but I don't want to keep
reading. See? Mixed. Confused. 
I'll be honest, I devoured this book. Not devoured because I insanely 
loved it, but devoured because this book was so bad.

This is the kind of book where you can easily guess what a character
is going to say or do beforehand. It's very predictable, painfully so.
These characters have a set multiple choice sequence to act upon and
they do not deviate from this. I imagine the characters are like a
computer, there's only a certain amount of information you can store
and after that you have to start deleting things to make room for
other information. Only the bare necessities survive. 

There was a certain scene at the end of the book, where I was waiting
for Clary to say the obvious. I kept reading and reading and reading 
even more, but she never did. I don't like going in loops to get back 
to the main point. Hate it, in fact. That was a problem for me 
throughout City of Bones. Some things were focused on too heavily 
and others, the things that were important, were pushed to the side 
and I was left feeling irritated. 

While there's a bunch of negative things, I can't let the whole
review be about the bad things. The good things include: Luke (a 
friend of Clary's mom), Alaric (which I'm still upset about), and
Church the cat.

I really don't have anything positive to say except; you won't be able
to put it down.

I didn’t plan to review City of Bones. Hell, I didn’t even plan to read it. But…I did and I regret nothing. Planning to start the next book soon, possibly tonight.

One thing I didn’t put in the review is that I think City of Bones reads like fanfiction. I know the author has a past of writing fanfiction and it shows. Not that it’s anything to be ashamed about (as I’ve read and written a share of my own). I just didn’t think it’d be proper to say as such in the review. :)

