Tags

, , , , , , ,

Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver
441 pages
Published February 1, 2011
Buy at Amazon

Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

Review:

There was a lot about Delirium that was promising. The whole premise
of love being eradicated, of it being called a disease is fascinating.
The people who are cured are loveless. Never displaying too much
affection, living their lives with a partner they're matched with,
never singing, or anything. Everything you loved becomes nothing. It
means nothing. Something you might have loved before becomes meaning-
less. Someone you might have loved before becomes meaningless.
"I love you." is never heard, never whispered. 

Lena never wanted to fall in love. In fact, she counted down the days
until she was to be cured. To me, this is a little weird because her
mother was not cured. Her mother let her have a taste of the life
people had before. But Lena is stickler for the rules. Always worrying
about getting in trouble, until she meets Alex.
That's how it always happens, right? Thus starts the true downfall.
He's liked her from the start, he's bad for her, he's even kinda
stalked her, all of this is vaguely familiar. 

I wasn't even a fourth of the way through when I noticed I was
skimming. Skimming, for heavens sake! When you enjoy a book you do not
skim. I honestly forced myself through this book up until the end. I
got a taste of what I wanted out of Delirium. It became exciting and
dangerous and heartbreaking. 

The end was what I found in bits of the dialogue and scenes throughout
the book, it was as if something groundbreaking had finally occurred.

This doesn't change the way I feel about Delirium, but it does give 
me hope for book 2.

Here is a positive review by Candace’s Book Blog, because I feel every book should have a positive review.

